Nourishment

This insightful tweet I saw got me thinking more broadly about the word nourishment,

“Through food we can nourish our communities, our relationships, our families, our world.  What are you nourishing today?”

When I was a teenager and in my early 20s, nourishment was the last thing on my mind.  I was so focused on restrictive eating and exercise that food and nourishment were not two things I would put together.  I am so thankful that I overcame that and now know food is fuel to nourish my body and mind.  I would not have been able to do all the athletic adventures in my adult life if I was not taking care of myself.  I also know I would be limited in being there for family and friends if I wasn’t nourishing myself on the inside and out.

Nourishment comes in different forms such as whole food nutrition, self care with yoga and meditation and giving back to others.  I told my husband I wish there was a career that would pay the bills where you could just go and help others as that is what truly fills me up.  This year I started keeping some non perishable food in my car so when I see a homeless person I can provide them something.  I’ve started asking their name and wishing them a good day as don’t we all want to be affirmed?

I’ve found when there are challenges in my life that if I turn the attention on someone else and do something to make someone’s day a little lighter that it will do the same for me.  I hope you can find and spread some lightness today and nourish yourself and those around you.

3 thoughts on “Nourishment

  1. Pingback: Nourishment | Jim's Box

Leave a Reply

