Cleanse

What is it about a good cleanse that gets me on an emotional high? Could be some of my type A characteristics noted below per a Wikipedia definition (hopefully not all apply):

Type A

The theory describes a Type A individual as ambitious, rigidly organized, highly status conscious, can be sensitive, care for other people, are truthful, impatient, always try to help others, take on more than they can handle, want other people to get to the point, proactive, and obsessed with time management. People with Type A personalities are often high-achieving “workaholics” who multi-task, push themselves with deadlines, and hate both delays and ambivalence.

I am not referring to a food cleanse but can admit when I have done one in the past I loved how I felt (clean, empty, pure) but the joy I get from cleaning out or organizing a closet or some area in my house.  My mom was always very organized and taught us how to keep things in their place so I know some of this is learned behavior.  I have not qualms about my neurosis as I love how it feels for everything to be in its place and be nice and tidy.  Good thing my husband has the same quirks otherwise it might cause some riffs.

If you are looking for a natural high, try it out.  Pick an area in your house that causes subconscious heaviness on your shoulders and clean it up and organize it.  You will be amazed at how lighter you feel knowing there is less clutter in your life.

2 thoughts on “Cleanse

  1. If I knew you were going to write about this we could have done before and after photos of my armoire…..you have inspired me….will tackle it after Kentucky trip. It does feel good to be clutterless in all aspects of life.

  2. This is an area that I am definitely Type A – and PROUD! Cleanliness(as in order and simplicity) is next to godliness… It makes me SO HAPPY when people describe being in my home as Zen 🙂 I remember being that way about my room as a child and it’s still with me today.

Leave a Reply

