Know It, Fight It, End It

I didn’t know about pancreatic cancer six and a half years ago until my dad was diagnosed at the age of 53.  The outlook from the doctor was grim as well as what I learned on the Internet and from people that knew about the deadly disease.  The stats held true and took my dad’s life five years ago today after fighting it for 18 months.  His brother was diagnosed also during my dad’s fight and he lost his battle as well.

Pancreatic cancer is one of the most deadly cancers. 94% of patients will die within five years of diagnosis – only 6% survive more than five years and 74% of pancreatic cancer patients die within the first year of diagnosis. These statistics have changed little in the last 40 years.

I don’t like to memorialize someone’s death as I would rather celebrate their birthday anniversary but what I like to do is use this day to evangelize and raise awareness of pancreatic cancer and ask you and others for action to raise awareness and be an advocate and contact your Congress member with these easy links.

There are others like me that are making it their mission to raise awareness and fight back for their lost loved ones.  Julie, Marathon Goddess, is one of those and I am cheering her along the way on her 52 marathons to raise money for Pancreatic Cancer Action Network and I invite you to do the same.  She is running the Santa Monica marathon as I type.  Julie, You’ve Got This!

And the fighters like Molli Serrano that I am cheering on in spirit as she fights this disease and trains for Ironman Kona!

Help me by being an advocate and evangelist and spread the word and let’s be part of finding more answers to improve these poor stats of this deadly disease.

3 thoughts on “Know It, Fight It, End It

  1. Pingback: Dog-gone-it! | veganxplorer

  2. Pingback: “He’d be proud of you” | veganxplorer

  3. Pingback: Who Am I? | veganxplorer

Leave a Reply

