Yoga

Yoga is the union of body, mind and spirit. ~ The Seven Spiritual Laws of Yoga Book

Last night I completed my 31st class of the 30 day yoga challenge I was doing.  I really enjoyed practicing yoga almost every day (there were 3 days I was on travel and one day I planned not being able to go based on schedule so did six days of double classes).  I didn’t know how my body would react to being on the mat almost every day as I have been dealing with tendentious in my left shoulder and a tight left knee cap but I am happy to say that both actually feel much better!  I was able to explore a variety of classes and teachers.  I am typically a morning exercise person but I found myself going to classes at night which was a nice break in my routine and good practice for upcoming Ironman training when I know I am going to have to do both a.m. and p.m. workouts.

As with any challenge and routine I am sad to see it come to an end and actually contemplated doing another 30 in November but I plan to focus on meditation in November and will incorporate yoga at home as well.  I signed up for the free 21-day daily guided meditation through the Chopra Center.

I was inspired by parents that brought their 9 year old daughter to a stretch class the other night and think it is such a beautiful life long gift they are passing onto her.  If I would have only known about yoga that young I would have probably had a different outlook on my body image growing up.  I just ordered a kids and teen yoga DVD so when I go to North Dakota for Thanksgiving I can share the gift of yoga with my nieces and nephews.  Right now they might just think it is some strange thing they are doing with their Californian aunt but one day they will understand what yoga is all about.

If you practice yoga I encourage you to share this experience with someone you care about.  If you haven’t tried yoga it is a gift you should give to yourself.  Here is an offer from the Chopra Center for a free DVD with only the cost of shipping you might want to consider.

4 thoughts on “Yoga

  1. Glad that I got to share the last class of your challenge with you. Love that you are going to give the gift of yoga to your nieces and nephews.

  2. Pingback: Lifestyle | veganxplorer

  3. Pingback: Who Am I? | veganxplorer

Leave a Reply

