Covers

We’ve all heard the adage “you can’t judge a book by its cover”.  That is resonating with me more and more in life.

We are all beings of matter on this planet with many different covers.  By just glancing at each person you don’t know what makes up that person unless you intimately know them.  Keep this in mind when you start calculating a judgement in your mind about someone.  Do you know anything about them?  I reminded myself of this when I was feeling sympathy  for a woman I thought might have anorexia.  Even though I felt my intentions were good feeling sympathy for her I was making a judgement that I have no idea was the case.  Maybe she was ill, maybe she was anorexic but either way it was none of my business to make a judgement on this soul I knew nothing about.  I might try and justify how I was feeling since I’ve dealt with anorexia and bulimia but everyone’s story is different and not my place to judge.

This concept has come to mind during my volunteer hours with the dogs at the Rancho Coastal Humane Society.  There are so many stereotypes about different dog breeds and I was surprising myself by how much I had fallen for two different Chihuahua mixed breeds at the shelter.  I had a preconceived notion that they were yappy dogs.  After getting to know two different Chihuahuas I was reminded that it doesn’t matter what exterior cover we have, it depends on what is on the inside and what exterior factors have affected and influenced us.  Obviously these two dogs had sweet souls that someone had nurtured up to this point.

A friend once blogged regarding athletic competition that “you can’t see the engine”.  She was referring to the fact that we all have different body types but it is no indication of how primed our “engine” might be on the inside.  It’s a way to remember we all have a heart and know how it feels to be judged so leave the judgements behind, open the book and find out what is on the inside.

One thought on “Covers

Leave a Reply

