Recap

Over the past week I have been looking through my 2012 Facebook timeline.  I used to scrapbook and love looking back at memories so am thankful for the online social media outlets that help me recollect what has happened over the past year.  My husband and I had a goal this year to try and do monthly adventures and I think we accomplished our goal and created great memories!  Here’s a recap of my 2012 which has a lot more color than I envision 2013 will have since there will be a primary focus of preparing for Ironman by staying healthy and injury free.  Next year my recap may look like this: swim, bike, run, eat, sleep, work, repeat!

January: Signed up for races and I project managed our last bathroom remodel.  The cats love their new bathroom!

February: Trip to NYC to see our college friend, Ryan, and his wife Kristen before their move to DC.  My dear friend, Shephali, taught me how to meditate which is a precious life long gift I will always have.

March: Palm Desert Olympic triathlon early in the month and Southcoast Winery overnight in Temecula for my birthday later in the month.

April: Bought Surly Long Haul Trucker touring bike and took a test trip up to Orange County and stayed at Caspers Wilderness Park for the night.  Seaglass hunting adventures with my friend Cathy.

May: Job change equals spur of the moment bike tour plans to tie into watching our friend Kirsty race Ironman St. George.  The Utah Cliffs 6 day self supported bike tour was one of the highlights of the year.  Started contract job with my former customer, Cricket.

June: My sister, Holly, my mom and her husband, Bill, came to San Diego as us kids were running the Rock and Roll half marathon.  Proud of my little sis’s 1/2 marathon PR!  Plus got to share Holly’s first yoga class experience with her post race.

July: Santa Barbara Olympic tri and mini vacation with hubby.

August: Contract project with Cricket finished.  Dove into blogging for the first time and love the creative outlet!  Ran AFC 1/2 marathon in memory of my dad’s 60th and fund-raised for Pancreatic Cancer Action Network.

September: Great visit with my big sis, Heather, who came to San Diego to visit us!  We went to a concert, hiked, SUP’d and went to yoga!  Served as crew support for my husband with his bucket list accomplishment of finishing the Everest Challenge in Bishop, CA.

October: Even after a crazy 12+ hour day stuck at O’hare appreciated being with my sis, Holly, at her baby boutique buying show in Louisville.  The 30-day yoga challenge I was doing that month helped me keep things in perspective and stay calm.  Started volunteering with dogs at Rancho Coastal Humane Society.

November: Second time in 11 years that we have went back to ND for Thanksgiving.  Worth the trip to see as many people as we could.  Started second contract project with Cricket after the holiday.  Participated in the Chopra Center 21-day meditation challenge.

December: Even though we got soaked in the rain we had fun biking to Orange County to eat at Native Foods and took train home from San Juan Capistrano.

4 thoughts on “Recap

  1. Pingback: Bike Tour Bug | veganxplorer

  2. Pingback: 2013 Recap | veganxplorer

Leave a Reply

