Elements

Sometimes it seems to this spoiled Californian that rain only comes on weekends when I want to be out and about. Well that was the case this weekend and now that I am in half and Ironman training the choices are hop on the bike trainer inside or nut up and get out into the elements. Since I am working full time right now and sitting at a desk all day the thought of sitting on a bike trainer all weekend was not appealing. I decided that rain or shine I was suiting up and getting er’ done. Fortunately my husband is also in the same training mode and is a trooper and accompanied me on a 4 hour ride Saturday and a 2 hour ride Sunday.

When we woke up Saturday the a.m. forecast changed to only 5% rain with the percentage increasing after 2 p.m. We quickly got ready and headed out and during the next four soaked hours remembered that they must send all the flunkie forecasters out to 70 and Sunny San Diego. We were soaked before the first hour of our ride. We saw a glimpse of sun during the last hour and half of our ride. But despite the rain and dirt (my dear hubby cleaned our bikes afterwards while I made us lunch) we had a blast. I am still tuning in my nutrition and didn’t fuel enough during the ride so I started to crack with 1.5 hours to go. I limped along by keeping my hubby in site ahead. I know this is the first of many days of mental training. I had a 40 minute transition run after this ride and my mind was telling me to bag it or if I could get my running shoes on the best I could do was walk it. Luckily I’ve been in this movie before and when I pulled into the garage I poured myself a glass of orange juice, put on my running shoes and put one foot in front of the other and jogged for the next 40 minutes. I mentally repeated several of my mantras and rhythm patterns to get me through. Remember “You are stronger than you think you are, you can do more than you think you can!”

When I pulled the blinds on Sunday morning it was wet out but again biking was on the docket and we wanted to get in our spin before masters swimming at 9:45 a.m. We pulled on the rain gear we have (Pacific Northwest cyclists would laugh) and headed out. Luckily we only got a mist here and there along the coast route while we soaked in the ocean ions before we had to immerse ourselves in chlorine for an hour.

70 and Sunny is what we love about San Diego but it makes playing in the rain when we have it all the more fun!Drive train won't be happy after this ride

Suited up for rain

Ride Dry?

Despite having medical gloves over my riding gloves I was able to squeeze tons of water out of them

Despite having medical gloves over my riding gloves I was able to squeeze tons of water out of them

One thought on “Elements

  1. As hard as it sounds you guys made the best out of it! Cannot wait til I get to watch all of your hard work pay off in Sept! xo

Leave a Reply

