Juicing Experiment

One of my friends recently did a bottled juice cleanse from a local company that distributes through health food stores.  I’ve been intrigued when I’ve been in these stores and see people put 18 bottles for a 3-day cleanse on a conveyor belt and see the register total with triple digits.  I asked my friend to save her bottles so I could do an experiment on how much it would cost me and the amount of time to juice one days worth of  juice cleanse on my own.

Now that I am done with Ironman training I carved out time this weekend to do the experiment.

Before I go into more detail I will give you the conclusion I came to:

If you have your own equipment already (juicer and high power blender) and approx. an hour a day it is worth the money saved and reduced waste of plastic bottles (and likely processing and shipping carbon footprint) to juice for yourself.  If you don’t have experience juicing, the equipment, time and have the money, the convenience of buying a juice cleanse is a good option for many.  I would recommend seeking out local juice shops such as Juice Nation in Solana Beach, Fountain of Youth Juice in Encinitas or Picasso Naturals in Kearny Mesa to support small local businesses.

Equipment

  • Breville Juice Fountain (not cold pressed like the bottle juice my friend bought)
  • Vitamix blender (used for the last “recipe”)
  • Ball mason jars (top line is 12 oz but filled some to ridge of top which is 16 oz)

Time

  • 30 minutes grocery shopping (most people grocery shop so don’t believe this has to be accounted for as would already be grocery shopping)
  • 1.5 hours (cut down to an hour as added time for me to organize produce for pictures and take pictures of each juice yield)
  • 1 hr likely time to wash, juice, package and clean up per day

Organic* Produce

  • 3 cucumbers
  • 1 celery bunch
  • 4 medium carrots
  • 2 bunches of spinach (only used one)
  • 2 bunches of kale (only used 1.5)
  • 1 bunch of collard greens
  • 1 large red beet
  • 7 apples (5 organic gala and had to use 2 regular honey crisps from my fridge)
  • 6 small lemons
  • 1 tangelo (substituted for recipe that called for an orange)
  • 1 pineapple
  • 1 regular young coconut
  • 2 small ginger roots (only used 1)

*All organic other than note on apples and coconut

2013-09-28 16.50.40

Other Ingredients

  • 1/4 c. almonds
  • squeeze of agave nectar (used instead of honey in a recipe)
  • dash cinnamon
  • dash nutmeg
  • inch of vanilla bean

*Not organic and already had ingredients at home

Cost

  • $34.57 (washes out after produce I didn’t use and ingredients I already had at home)
  • Approx. $54/day for juice cleanse my friend did

Yield

  • For all but one of the six “recipes” I yielded almost double the amount of the store bought juice
  • 16 oz. per bottle of the juice cleanse my friend did

If I juice in this quantity again my next goal is to figure out how to utilize all the pulp and incorporate into other recipes such as soup and dehydrated bars or chips.  For now it is in my outdoor composter for my next gardening needs!

Whatever way you get your fruits and veggies in, cheers to your good and vibrant health!

One thought on “Juicing Experiment

  1. Pingback: Real Food Cleanse | veganxplorer

Leave a Reply

