Real Food Cleanse

Cleanses are very popular these days especially juice cleanses.  Cleanses can be helpful if you are trying to figure out a food allergy/sensitivity or trying to start a clean diet and want to gently reset your digestive system.  Cleanses range from more of a fasting cleanse, juice cleanse or a light cleanse with clean foods for a range of days from as short as 3 days up to a month.

This week I wanted to do a light food cleanse to give my GI system a little break before the holidays begin where I am likely to indulge a little more than usual.  I am doing a four day cleanse as I like to eat more heartier meals over the weekend when my exercise/training is heavier than during the week days.

I eat mostly clean whole food but there are always little tweaks I can make to be even cleaner.  The below daily meal log is very similar to how I normally eat but took out oats, grains, gluten-free flour, natural sweeteners (agave, brown rice syrup however still used a little pure maple syrup in some of my items below), tortilla chips, peanut/almond butter, soy products and stimulants (pre workout energizer, chocolate, caffeinated tea).  I didn’t note each time I drank water but that is my staple hydrator of the day outside of juices and smoothies.

I like to keep things simple and prep food in advance so the meals are fairly similiar for each day with the focus on juices, smoothies, soups and salads.

Day 1

Before masters swim: 1 TBSP apple cider vinegar with glass of water

a.m. snack: fresh carrot juice paired with orange juice

breakfast: chia seeds soaked in almond milk w/cardamom, blueberries & walnuts; 4 raw carrot bites  & decaf chai tea

lunch: homemade red lentil veggie soup topped with haas avocado, fresh persimmon

afternoon snack: apple & roasted pepita seeds

pre grocery shopping snack: banana

dinner: spinach salad with avocado, tomato, cucumber, raisins, broccoli sprouts drizzled with olive oil and balsamic vinegar

p.m. snack: coconut almond smoothie & 4 raw carrot bites

before bed: detox tea

Day 2

Upon waking up: 1 TBSP apple cider vinegar with glass of water

breakfast: chia seeds soaked in almond milk w/cardamom, cinnamon, blueberries & walnuts; 4 raw carrot bites  & decaf chai tea

pre run/weight routine snack: green smoothie with added spirulina and maca, side of raw cashews

lunch: homemade carrot soup, roasted chickpeas and a fresh persimmon

roasted chickpeas

afternoon snack: Vega greens & protein drink and raw almonds

dinner prep snack: banana

dinner: mexican chowder topped with fresh avocado

p.m. snack: cantaloup & dried apricots

before bed: detox tea

Day 3

Upon waking up: 1 TBSP apple cider vinegar with glass of water

post bike ride snack: Vega One Vanilla chai & banana

breakfast: chia seeds soaked in almond milk w/cardamom, strawberries & slivered almonds

a.m. snack: 4 raw carrot bites  & decaf chai tea

lunch: homemade red lentil veggie soup topped with haas avocado, dried apricots

afternoon snack: green smoothie with added spirulina and maca, side of roasted pepita seeds

dinner: spinach salad with avocado, tomato, cucumber, raisins, broccoli sprouts,  roasted chickpeas & drizzled with olive oil and balsamic vinegar

p.m. snack: coconut almond smoothie

before bed: detox tea

Day 4
Upon waking up: 1 TBSP apple cider vinegar with glass of water

post weights/run: Chocolate Vega performance protein & banana

breakfast: chia seeds soaked in almond milk w/cardamom, cinnamon, strawberries, pepita seeds  & decaf green tea

late a.m. snack: green smoothie with added spirulina and maca, side of roasted chickpeas

late lunch: mexican chowder topped with fresh avocado, dried apricots

dinner: homemade Channa masala, apple

p.m. snack: hummus with veggies

I find this type of light food cleanse relatively easy and refreshing as it makes me break out of my regular meal modes and incorporate in some new elements.  Even though I regularly eat fiber my GI system needs a little break from chia seeds this week!  Everything in moderation, even the healthy stuff!

Have you ever tried a cleanse and if so please share what type of any pros and cons you felt it had?

3 thoughts on “Real Food Cleanse

  1. Hi Heidi!

    Thanks for sharing this! I have done lots of cleanses – many similar to this -but I usually did the one month allergen/elimination cleanse to listen to my body and find out whether I was having food allergies.

    The biggest shift came when I started to pay attention to alkaline foods. I feel the best when I eliminate gluten and sugar – to include very few if any fruits – fruit is a more rare treat and I try to have berries as they are the lowest in sugars. I also focus on greens and protein at every meal, it’s really helped my skin, energy and mood stabilize!

    Thanks again for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Add in the positive, crowd out the negative! | veganxplorer

Leave a Reply

