Another Nail Bites the Dust

If you are a runner you know what I mean!  Despite keeping my nails short I still lose a toe nail from time to time.  My run training focus right now is mostly hills preparing for St. George 70.3.  When I did the race last year I said “one and done” but somehow I found myself signing up for it again this year.  I try to run as many  hills as possible to get my legs and mind ready for Red Hills Parkway and the 2059 elevation feet we get treated too after a hilly bike ride.  With that being said I’ve been going up a lot of hills and down a lot of hills so one of my toe nails is crying uncle and starting its departure from my toe.  It is in the bruised and throbbing phase right now (will spare you the visual) but before I know it, it will come loose and fall off.  I’ve heard of some ultra runners going the extreme and getting their toe nails removed but since I don’t do this to my cats I will spare myself from the agony too!  Plus it is not so bad asking the pedicurist to paint the skin of one toe but that would be some artistry to paint the skin on all ten toes that were without nails!

Long run route for last two weeks = dead toe nail!

Long run route for last two weeks = dead toe nail!

I was inspired by a friend, fellow athlete and blogger on some song lyrics she wrote during a recent taper and thought Another One Bites the Dust by Queen was a fitting song for this situation!

“Another Nail Bites The Dust”

Heidi runs warily down the street,
with the visor pulled way down low
Ain’t no sound but the sound of her feet,
weekly run training ready to go
Are you ready, Are you ready for this
Are you hanging on the edge of your seat
In the Sauconys, the feet throb

To the sound of the beat

Another nail bites the dust
Another nail bites the dust
And another one gone, and another one gone
Another nail bites the dust
Hey, if you’re a runner too
Another nail bites the dust

How do you think I’m going to get along,
without you, when you’re gone
Forget the pedicures that I had,
they’d kicked me out on my own

Are you happy, are you satisfied
How long can you stand the sight of these feet!
In the Sauconys, the feet throb

To the sound of the beat

[Chorus]

Another nail bites the dust
Another nail bites the dust
Another nail bites the dust
Another nail bites the dust

Leave a Reply

