Taper Time

I’m in the thick of taper time in preparation for St. George 70.3 a week from today.  As a matter-of-fact, at this time next week, I will be done with the race and back at our campsite working on race recovery!

The mind can get the best of you during this time period of reduced training volume but I told my husband after a key run last Sunday to remind me during taper and after the race that I know I did the work and just need to let it all fall together and also keep it together on race day!  Or as my teammate Leslie said, “the hay is in the barn!”

Due to forecasted wet and windy weather, I changed up my weekend training schedule and planned to do a short run with some pick ups today.  However I decided my body would benefit more from stretching and self massage so I bagged the run and filled my day with other great tapering activities that don’t always get priority during a normal training weekend.

  • Slept in until 7:30 a.m.
  • Stretched for 30 minutes focusing on my tight right foot and calf
  • Meditated to a timely message “My inner vision wisely guides my actions”
  • Started packing race essentials
  • Audited HERevolution team swim suits (can’t wait to wear tomorrow during long course practice!)
  • Volunteered at Rancho Coastal Humane Society
  • Late afternoon nap with husband and our fur babies

This week I have felt the fatigue come to the surface from all the building training weeks and am hopeful that next week I will feel refreshed and antsy and ready to tackle the half Ironman on Saturday!

4 thoughts on “Taper Time

  1. really smart Heidi! Listening to your body…. there is not fitness to be gained 6 days out- rest well – the work is done- being fresh will allow you to dig deep on race day!

    • Thanks Julie! I’ll be thinking of you doing two races back to back at Wildflower when I am digging on the St. George run. Oh and thinking of you doing the loop twice when it was a full IM!

Leave a Reply

