Gluten Hangover

You know the saying, “woke up on the wrong side of the bed”?  Well that is how I feel today.  It is not because I am crabby, it’s because I consumed gluten yesterday.

After I started eating a vegan diet due to lactose intolerance I still noticed I didn’t feel great all the time so I started experimenting with cutting out gluten and sure enough I felt better.  I’ve never been diagnosed with a wheat/gluten allergy but based on how my body feels after eating items with those ingredients I believe I have a gluten sensitivity.  My daily diet is usually gluten free but yesterday when I was getting a salad at Wholefoods after a bike ride I saw the vegan cake donuts and decided to have not one, but two.  I don’t experience too much GI distress right after eating gluten, just a little bloating.  It is the day after I feel like I have a hangover.  Darker under eye circles, brain fog and fatigue.

vegan cake donuts

I tossed and turned starting at 3 a.m. and at some point fell asleep and finally woke up at 8:30 a.m. (usually up around 5 a.m.)!  It was a rest day from exercise so I did some stuff around the house in my state of haze and then took a nap from noon to 1:30 p.m.!  I completely accept the fact that this could be due to my body needing a rest day coupled with the gluten hangover.

My husband's first triathlon swim had zero visibility and swimmers had to be lead by a boat through the course!

My husband’s first triathlon swim had zero visibility and swimmers had to be lead by a boat through the course!

I’m sure I’ll get to the point with gluten that  I am with dairy that I won’t stray but until then I will listen to my body revolting from the gluten hangover (good thing I don’t deal with alcohol hangovers too)!  Until then, I will rejoice each time I find a vegan gluten free donut!

Leave a Reply

