Colorado flashback

Before I recap 2016 adventures I need to take a mental time machine back to our Colorado trip in July.  It was one of our highlights of the year because we got to play in the mountains with our friends, try new things like summiting our first 14er and doing white water rafting and having a family reunion with some of my family in between!

Colorado has always had a special place in my heart as it was where I would spend time in the summer visiting my dad in Aurora.  When my dad was long haul trucking I would be with my aunt, uncle and cousins and they planted the outdoorsy seed in me by taking me into the mountains to camp.

Our friends from Canada holiday in Leadville in the summer and were tying the knot on a mountain peak so it was perfect timing to head up to 10,000 feet and spend a couple weeks with them exploring this special place.

To top off such an amazing trip my older sister and her kids were going to road trip to CO so we coordinated and talked our sister, Holly, and niece Ruby into flying in and our step mom to drive from Kansas for a mini reunion.  We all met in adorable Buena Vista for a couple days of visiting and white water rafting as a family!

We have other travel plans in 2017 so probably won’t make it back to CO next year but know it will be a frequent destination for us so we can get our Rocky Mountain fix!

Other trip highlights:

  • Rained out in Flagstaff so took unplanned trip to the Grand Canyon South Rim

 

 

 

  • Quick drive throughs in Durango, Gunnison, Crested Butte, Ouray which will need to be explored more in the future
  • Hiking Cottonwood Pass
  • Biking the Independence Pass
  • Hiking Hope Pass
  • Camping near Turquoise Lake which was great for short trail runs and bike rides
One thought on “Colorado flashback

  1. Pingback: 2016 Swanson Adventure Recap | veganxplorer

Leave a Reply

